01
02
03
04
05
01 / 05

NEOMA Business School

A campus in a rapidly changing neighbourhood that combines educational, digital and architectural innovation. The health and well-being of students is at the heart of the project.

The Reims campus is a new stage in the development dynamic undertaken by NEOMA.
This school with a capacity of 4700 students is focused on digital and innovation in order to be in line with the best world standards.
 
In partnership with Henning Larsen, we have designed a project that combines innovation, environmental friendliness and a focus on student life.
 
At the centre of the project a large wooden structure is designed to be visible and accessible from all sides. Large terraces extend towards the canal and invite students to meet, study and enjoy the 360° view over Reims.
 
The large hall combines wood and glass to bring conviviality and luminosity to the spaces.

Client : NEOMA Business School
Location : Reims, France
Surface : 35 000 m²
Status : Expected completion
Date : 2025
Key points
  • Innovative pedagogy.
  • Well-being.
  • Changing neighborhood.
  • International team.
Performance environnementale
  • Targeted labels: LEED, WELL, E+C

Integration into the site

Urban approach

The school fits into the overall structure of the master plan with a continuous alignment of facades towards the northern end of the site and a more open structure towards the canal to the south allowing views and natural light into this area. The whole campus has a strong internal coherence and brings life to its surroundings. A central east-west passageway links the campus to the neighborhood and allows views to the various outdoor spaces of the project.

Landscape strategy

The master plan provides for planted alleys in a north-south direction. For the NEOMA site, we have taken our landscape strategy a step further by creating a student park on the the entire length of the site. It also refers to the former industrial area, where greenery always found its way through the small cracks in the pavement. It is in these cracks that life appears and flourishes.

Heart of Campus - Neoma’s green lung

At the centre of the project, we placed the heart of the school: a wooden structure incorporating all the social functions of the students, the associations, the canteen and the learning centre. This central wooden building is designed as a large structure visible and accessible from all sides.
 
Descending towards the canal, it offers large rooftop terraces at all levels, encouraging students to use the outdoors to study, meet and enjoy a 360° panoramic view of Reims.

NEOMA’s project prioritises the creation of a welcoming pedestrian environment towards the canal and proposes to transform the existing building located in the southern part of the plot. This building will include student functions and a café.

Revitalising the canal

The structure of the building, which opens onto the canal, characterises the new area and offers views of the Neoma “universe”. The life of the school will animate the NEOMA campus but will also give a dynamic to the canal side and the surrounding parks. The central wooden structure attracts the attention of passers-by with its tiered green landscape and lively student life.

Landscape as a support for student life

The central courtyard garden is the green lung of Neoma. It is the ideal break space, as well as an appropriate environment for outdoor study and larger events. The green spaces are the permanent backdrop to the daily life of the school.

Organisation of spaces

The central wooden building is the heart of our project. We conceive it as a flexible grid offering:

  • visual connections between floors,
  • external and internal balconies,
  • green spaces,
  • open staircases.

Buildings Frames

The programme consists of a substantial proportion of classrooms and more formal teaching spaces. We propose to frame the campus with these spaces in a simple post-and-beam concrete structure capable of adapting to future changes in teaching methods.
 
The buildings have been designed with recesses for entrances and can be extended in a later phase. Their post and beam concrete structure also makes them very flexible buildings where the partitioning can be changed in the future without major intervention.
 
All areas are well lit with generous glass surfaces and offer extensive views of nature.

Heart of the Campus

The central wooden structure contrasts with the concrete buildings. It is a meeting place where all the student life areas have been positioned. Highly visible, open on all sides, extended by terraces with pergolas on all levels, we thought it as a warm and lively place.

It is also a building that we have designed as a “toolbox”, evolving, built with a post-and-beam wooden framework that will allow in the future to accommodate new uses if the need arises.

Façade and materials

The façade was designed to draw parallels with the history of the site: structures, patterns and colours from the codes of industrial construction were translated into a contemporary language. The external envelope alternates vertical rhythms of full cladding and openings. As for the interior façade, it is more subdivided with niches and balconies opening onto the gardens, while retaining the same rhythms.
 
The wooden structure is a new typology in the district that responds to a sustainable ambition and a desire to introduce a living and warm material as a living environment for students and teachers. We wanted to create an open and flexible structure in which one can see and be seen.

An open and flexible structure in which you can see and be seen. Structures, patterns and colours are based on the uses of the buildings industrial heritage of the district.

The upper part of the façade consists of an alternating rhythm of windows and solid metal elements. Thin metal fins shade the facade and give it depth.
 
In industrial architecture, the supporting structure is often visible. In the steel structure, as on the existing buildings on the site, cross braces are present between two posts. We wanted to integrate this element to recall the history of the site while remaining resolutely contemporary.

Façade of the wooden building

The wooden façade of the building consists of wooden frames and louvers that serve as sun protection. The post-and-beam wooden structure also extends to the exterior, creating large pergolas. The building descends towards the canal in successive terraces in an inviting gesture.

Team

Patriarche group:

Patriarche (Architecture, Interior design)
Patriarche UX (Digital)

Partners:

Henning Larsen (leader)
Egis
Elioth
Etamine
Crea Factory
Acoustb

Copyrights

3D pictures ©Henning Larsen

Programme

Education
Did you like this project ?
Add it to your download list to read a full PDF presentation

01
02
03
04
05
01 / 05

NEOMA Business School

Un campus dans un quartier en pleine mutation qui allie innovation pédagogique, digitale et architecturale.

Le campus de Reims est une nouvelle étape dans la dynamique de développement engagé par NEOMA.
Cette école avec une capacité d’accueil de 4700 étudiants est tournée vers le digital et l’innovation afin de s’aligner aux meilleurs standards mondiaux.

En partenariat avec le cabinet Henning Larsen nous avons conçu un projet qui allie innovation, respect environnemental et mise en avant de la vie étudiante.

Au centre du projet une grande structure en bois est pensée pour être visible et accessible de tous les côtés. De grandes terrasses se déploient en direction du canal et invitent les étudiants à se réunir, étudier et profiter de la vue à 360° sur Reims.
Le grand hall associe bois et verre pour apporter convivialité et luminosité aux espaces.

Client : NEOMA Business School
Localisation : Reims, France
Surface : 35 000 m²
Statut : Livraison
Date : 2025
Key points
  • Pédagogie innovante.
  • Bien-être.
  • Quartier en mutation.
  • Équipe internationale.
Performance environnementale
  • Labels visés : LEED, WELL, E+C-

Intégration au site

Approche urbaine

L’école s’inscrit dans la structure globale du plan directeur avec un alignement des façades continu vers l’extrémité nord du site et une structure plus ouverte vers le canal au sud permettant des vues et un apport de lumière naturelle dans cette zone. L’ensemble du campus a une forte cohérence interne et apporte de la vie à son environnement. Un passage central Est-Ouest relie le campus au quartier et permet des vues sur les différents espaces extérieurs du projet.

Stratégie paysagère

Le plan directeur prévoit des allées plantées dans le sens nord-sud. Pour le site NEOMA, nous avons poussé notre stratégie paysagère un peu plus loin en créant un parc étudiant sur toute la longueur du site. Cela vient également faire référence à l’ancienne zone industrielle, où la verdure trouvait toujours son chemin à travers les petites fissures du trottoir. C’est dans ces fissures que la vie apparaît et s’épanouit.

Coeur de Campus - Le poumon vert de NEOMA

Au centre du projet, nous avons placé le cœur de l’école : une structure en bois incorporant toutes les fonctions sociales des étudiants, les associations, la cantine et le learning center. Ce bâtiment central en bois est pensé comme une grande structure visible et accessible de tous les côtés. En descendant vers le canal, elle offre de grandes terrasses sur les toits à tous les niveaux, encourageant les étudiants à utiliser l’extérieur pour étudier, se réunir et profiter d’une vue panoramique à 360° sur Reims.

Le projet de NEOMA valorise la création d’une ambiance piétonne accueillante vers le canal et propose de transformer le bâtiment existant situé en partie sud de la parcelle. Ce bâtiment comportera des fonctions étudiantes et un café.

Redynamiser le canal

La structure du bâtiment qui s’ouvre vers le canal caractérise la nouvelle zone et offre des vues sur “l’univers” Neoma. La vie de l’école va animer le campus NEOMA mais va également impulser une dynamique au bord du canal et dans les parcs qui l’entourent. La structure centrale en bois attire l’attention des passants avec son paysage vert en gradins et sa vie étudiante animée.

Paysage, support de la vie étudiante

Le jardin de la cour centrale est le poumon vert de Neoma.
C’est l’espace de pause idéal, ainsi qu’un environnement approprié pour l’étude en plein air et les événements plus importants. Les espaces verts sont la toile de fond permanente de la vie quotidienne de l’école.

Organisation des espaces

Le bâtiment central en bois est le coeur de notre projet. Nous le concevons comme une grille flexible offrant :

  • des connexions visuelles entre les étages,
  • des balcons extérieurs et intérieurs,
  • des espaces verts,
  • des escaliers ouverts.

Bâtiments Cadres

Le programme se compose d’une partie importante de salles de classe et d’espaces d’enseignement plus formel. Nous proposons d’encadrer le campus avec ces espaces dans une structure simple en béton poteaux-poutres capable de s’adapter aux changements futurs des méthodes d’enseignement. Ces “bâtiments cadres” servent de limite au site avec des creux pour les entrées et ils pourront être étendus dans une phase ultérieure . Leur structure porteuse poteaux-poutre en béton en font également des bâtiments très flexible où le cloisonnement pourra être changé dans le futur sans intervention lourde.

Toutes les zones sont bien éclairées grâce à des surfaces vitrées généreuses et offrent de vastes vues sur la nature.

Coeur de Campus

La structure centrale en bois contraste avec les bâtiments en béton. Il s’agit d’un lieu de rencontre où on été positionnés tous les lieux de vie étudiant. Très visible, ouvert sur tous les côtés, prolongé par des terrasses avec des pergolas à tous les niveaux, nous l’avons pensé comme un lieu chaleureux et vivant.

C’est aussi un bâtiment que nous avons conçu comme une “boîte à outils”, évolutif, construit avec une trame poteaux-poutres en bois qui permettra dans le futur d’accueillir de nouveaux usages si le besoin s’en fait sentir.

Façade et matériaux

La façade a été conçue de manière à tisser des parallèles avec l’histoire du site : structures, motifs et couleurs reprenant les codes de la construction industrielles ont été traduits dans un langage contemporain. L’enveloppe extérieure alterne des rythmes verticaux de plein en bardage et d’ouvertures. Quant à la façade intérieure, celle-ci, tout en reprenant les mêmes rythmes est plus subdivisée avec des niches et des balcons ouverts sur les jardins.

La structure en bois est une nouvelle typologie dans le quartier qui répond à une ambition durable et à un souhait d’introduire un matériau vivant et chaleureux comme cadre de vie pour les étudiants et les professeurs. Nous avons souhaité créer une structure ouverte et flexible dans laquelle on peut voir et être vu.

Une structure ouverte et flexible dans laquelle on peut voir et être vu. Structures, motifs et couleurs reprennent les codes de la constructions industrielles, patrimoine du quartier.

La partie supérieure de la façade est constituée d’un rythme alterné de fenêtres et d’éléments pleins en métal. De fines ailettes métalliques permettent d’ombrager la façade tout en lui conférant de la profondeur.

Dans l’architecture industrielle, la structure porteuse est souvent visible. En charpente métallique, comme sur les bâtiments existants sur le site, des croix de contreventêment sont présentes entre deux poteaux. Nous avons voulu intégrer cet élément afin de rappeler l’histoire du site tout en restant résolument contemporain

Façade du bâtiment bois

La façade du bâtiment en bois est composée de cadres et de persiennes en bois qui servent de protection solaire. La structure bois poteaux-poutres vient se prolonger également à l’extérieur créant de grandes pergolas. Le bâtiment descend vers le canal en terrasses successives dans un grand geste invitant.

Équipe

Groupe Patriarche

Patriarche (Architecture, Architecture d’intérieur)
Patriarche UX (Digital)

Partenaires :

Henning Larsen (mandataire)
Egis
Elioth
Etamine
Crea Factory
Acoustb

Crédits :

Images 3D ©Henning Larsen

Programme

Enseignement
Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ce projet ?
Retirez-le de votre liste de téléchargement
Ajoutez-le à votre liste de téléchargement pour lire la description complète du projet au format PDF