01
02
03
04
01 / 04

Motion

An innovative and flexible office and retail building. On the agenda: a climbing gym, a restaurant, coworking spaces, co-living areas, etc.

Located at the crossroads of a neighbourhood in full renewal, near the TGV station, this project had to create a visual landmark and at the same time open up to the outside world by creating a meeting place.
 
Motion is a living, active building, it features the users who walk through it and give it life.  
A mixed-use operation, with the base differentiated from the upper floors in order to animate the public space by proposing a ground floor that dialogues with the street.
 
Construction had to be innovative and flexible. Faced with contemporary needs, it now seems inevitable to imagine architecture through the prism of reversibility.
 
Thus, commercial spaces can be deployed on mezzanines, the layout of the office floors is completely free and even the car park can be converted into a laboratory, a shop or even housing, without affecting the upper floors.

Client : Communauté d’agglomération du grand Avignon
Location : Avignon, France
Surface : 6 500 m²
Status : Expected completion
Date : 2024
Key points
  • Reversible parking.
  • Open, green island.
  • Flexibility, freedom of plan.
  • Evolving programme.
  • Wood and stone materials.
Performance environnementale
  • RE 2020
  • Geothermal heat production.
  • Silver BDM approach.
  • Bioclimatic design.
  • Photovoltaic plant.

Urban context

The layout of the buildings within the plot is the result of a study of the site, which is widely exposed to the southern sun and swept by the Mistral wind from the north, accentuated by the location of the site at the confluence of the Rhône and the Durance.
 
In an urban context in full mutation, the project seeks to open up to the public space while dynamising the Avenue de la gare thanks to a stepped spread, winding from one corner to the other of the plot, respecting the course of the sun.
 
With its “A” plan, the feet of which open towards the south, and its dynamic spread, the architecture fulfils its role as a shelter by offering a place to live around the heart of the green block.
 
This centrality is set off by a set of external walkways that contribute both to the solar protection of the façades and to the horizontal circulation of users, thus allowing them to stroll around the planted patio.

The signal

The project’s only R+6 volume, the bow of the South/East corner, materializes the entrance to the office floors.
Symbolically separated from the rest of the volume by a gap to the north, connected to the west wing by a set of footbridges overhanging the heart of the block, this volume constitutes the project’s lighthouse, creating the link/transition between public and private space, a volume that interacts.

A Heart

The heart of the block is the plant space around which the entire architectural project is structured. It is a source of greenery and a thermal asset for the building, a source of coolness in summer, the selected vegetation loses its foliage in winter to let the light through.

The forecourt

Designed as a breathing zone along the public pedestrian circulation, it is an open space, inviting people to take a break through the presence of benches and a step.

Evolving uses

In a context where construction must be innovative and flexible in the face of contemporary needs, as a direct result of the post-pandemic period, it now seems inevitable to imagine architecture through the prism of reversibility.

In the proposed project, this is expressed in different ways, from the possible use of mezzanines on the ground floor commercial spaces, to the total freedom of layout on the office floors, or the gridded distribution of vertical ducts.
 
However, the most innovative proposal is the reversible parking solution, where a car park can be converted into laboratories, shops or even housing, without affecting the upper floors.

With a mobility palace nearby and a public transport network in the making, the two levels of parking provided for in the project may no longer be essential for the proper functioning of the building; on the other hand, there is a growing demand for innovative work spaces (workshops), fablabs or laboratories.
 
The implementation of an intermediate slab with a demountable and reusable framework, combined with a structural framework adapted to several programmes (Laboratories, Workshops, Housing, Offices) makes it possible to respond to current needs while allowing for programmatic evolution and participation in the future mutation of the ZAC.

More precisely, by anticipating a different structural framework
from that of a classic car park (5m/6m/5m), we make it possible
to mutate the ground floor / 1st floor into several functions,
while maintaining a 16m wide base:

  • Laboratories (5m office or classroom/2m circulation/9m clean room/Lab); the height would then be 5.20m between 2 levels, sufficient to accommodate technical spaces
  • Shops (a depth of 16m, randomly divisible).
  • • Workshops: Workshops can be fitted with mezzanine floors and still be accessible for vehicle delivery.

Team

Patriarche group:

Patriarche (Architecture, Interior design, Landscape, QEB, BIM)
Patriarche Engineering (TCE, quantity surveying)
Patriarche Creative (Graphic design)
Bart (Promotion)
Walter (Operation, Office rental, Business services)

Copyrights

3D pictures ©Patriarche

Programme

Offices
Did you like this project ?
Add it to your download list to read a full PDF presentation

01
02
03
04
01 / 04
Motion
Un immeuble de bureaux et de commerces innovant et flexible. Au programme : une salle d’escalade, un restaurant, des espaces de coworking, du co-living...

Situé au carrefour d’un quartier en plein renouveau, près de la gare TGV ce projet devait pour à la fois créer un repère visuel et un/des lieux de rencontres.

Motion est un bâtiment vivant, actif, il met en scène les usagers qui le parcourent et lui donnent vie.

Une opération mixte, dont le socle est différencié des étages afin d’animer l’espace public en proposant un rez-de-chaussée qui dialogue avec la rue.

La construction se devait d’être innovante et flexible. Face aux besoins contemporains, il nous semble inévitable désormais d’imaginer l’architecture par le prisme de la réversibilité.

Ainsi les espaces commerciaux peuvent se déployer sur des mezzanines, l’implantation sur les étages de bureaux est totalement libre et même le parking pourra muter en laboratoire, commerce voir même en Logements, sans conséquence sur les étages supérieurs.

Client : Communauté d’agglomération du grand Avignon
Localisation : Avignon, France
Surface : 6 500 m²
Statut : Livraison
Date : 2024
Key points
  • Parking reversible.
  • Îlot ouvert et végétalisé.
  • Flexibilité, liberté du plan.
  • Programme évolutif.
  • Matériaux bois et pierre.
Performance environnementale
  • RE 2020
  • Production de chaleur par géothermie.
  • Démarche BDM niveau argent.
  • Conception bioclimatique.
  • Centrale photovoltaïque.
Contexte urbain

L’implantation du bâti sur la parcelle est la résultante de l’étude du lieu sur un site largement exposé au soleil méridional et balayé par le Mistral venu du Nord, accentué par la situation du site à la confluence du Rhône et de la Durance.

Dans un contexte urbain en pleine mutation, le projet cherche à s’ouvrir vers l’espace public tout en dynamisant l’Avenue de la gare grâce à un épannelage en gradin, s’enroulant d’un angle à l’autre de la parcelle, en respectant la course du soleil.

Avec son plan en « A » dont les pieds s’ouvrent vers le sud, et son épannelage dynamique, l’architecture accomplie son rôle d’abri en offrant un lieu de vie autour du cœur d’îlot vert.

Cette centralité est mise en scène par un jeu de coursives extérieures participant à la fois à la protection solaire des façades et à la circulation horizontale des usagers, permettant ainsi de déambuler tout autour du patio végétalisé.

Le signal

Unique volume en R+6 du projet, la proue de l’angle Sud/Est, matérialise l’entrée aux plateaux de bureaux. Symboliquement séparé du reste du volume par une faille au Nord, relié à l’aile Ouest par un ensemble de passerelles surplombant le cœur d’îlot, ce volume constitue le phare du projet créant le lien / la transition entre l’espace public et privé, un volume qui interpelle.

Un Cœur

Le cœur d’îlot est l’espace végétal autour duquel s’articule l’ensemble du projet architectural. Il est une source de verdure et présente un atout thermique pour le bâtiment, source de fraîcheur en été, la végétation sélectionnée perd son feuillage l’hiver pour laisser passer la lumière.

Le parvis

Dessiné comme une zone de respiration le long de la circulation piétonne publique, il s’agit d’un espace ouvert, invitant à la pause par la présence de banc et d’un gradin.

Des usages évolutifs

Dans un contexte où la construction se doit d’être innovante et flexible face aux besoins contemporains, résultante directe de la période post pandémie, il nous semble inévitable désormais d’imaginer l’architecture par le prisme de la réversibilité.

Sur le projet proposé cela s’exprime de différentes manières, de la possible mise en œuvre de mezzanines sur les espaces commerciaux du RDC, en passant par la totale liberté d’implantation sur les étages de bureaux, ou par la répartition tramée des gaines verticale.

Cependant la proposition la plus innovante concerne la solution de parking réversible, où un parc de stationnement peut muter en laboratoires, commerces voire même en logements, sans conséquence sur les étages supérieurs.

Avec un palais de la mobilité à proximité et un réseau de transport en commun en devenir, les deux niveaux de stationnement prévus dans le projet pourraient ne plus être essentiels au bon fonctionnement du bâtiment ; d’autre part la demande en espaces de travail innovants (Ateliers), fablab, ou laboratoires, est croissante.

La mise en œuvre d’une dalle intermédiaire en ossature démontable et réutilisable, jumelée à une trame structurelle adaptée à plusieurs programmes (Laboratoires, Ateliers, Logements, Bureaux) permet de répondre aux besoins actuels tout en permettant une évolutivité programmatique et participante à la mutation future de la ZAC.

De manière plus précise, en anticipant une trame structurelle différente de celle d’un parking classique (5m / 6m / 5m), nous rendons possible la mutabilité du RDC/R+1 en plusieurs fonctions, tout en conservant un socle de 16m de large :

  • Laboratoires (5m de bureau ou salle de classe / 2m de circulation / 9m de salle blanche / Labo); la hauteur serait alors de 5.20m entre 2 niveaux, une hauteur suffisante pour aménager des espaces techniques.
  • Commerces (une profondeur de 16m, divisible aléatoirement).
  • Ateliers : les ateliers peuvent être aménagés avec des mezzanines tout en restant accessible à la livraison de véhicule.
Équipe
Groupe Patriarche :

Patriarche (Architecture, Architecture d’intérieur, Paysage, QEB, BIM)
Patriarche Ingénierie (TCE, économie)
Patriarche Creative (Graphisme)
Bart (Promotion)
Walter (Exploitation, Location de bureaux, Services aux entreprises)

Crédits :

Images 3D ©Patriarche

Programme
Bureaux
Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur ce projet ?
Retirez-le de votre liste de téléchargement
Ajoutez-le à votre liste de téléchargement pour lire la description complète du projet au format PDF