01
02
03
04
05
01 / 05

ENSTA

The new ENSTA ParisTech campus has moved to the Palaiseau site.

The project, carried out within the framework of the ParisTech programme, aims to make the Saclay plateau a centre of scientific excellence at world level.
 
Located in a landscaped park, the building houses the general teaching, the Applied Mathematics Unit (UMA), a research area: the Applied Optics (LOA) laboratories, the Mechanics Unit (UME) and the Chemistry and Processes Unit (UCP) laboratories, as well as shared spaces: administration
offices, a library, two lecture theatres and a cafeteria.

Client : SOGEPROM et ADIM - Ministère de la défense
Location : Paris, France
Surface : 20 900 m²
Status : Completed
Date : 2012
Key points
  • Clarity of flows.
  • Encourage exchanges.
  • Planted facades.
  • Large, landscaped park.

Intention - bias

The architectural design of the ENSTA ParisTech school corresponds to the organisation of the interactions between the services and expresses the specificity of the differentiated typologies (collective services or teaching spaces), all grouped around a “Hub”, the atrium.
 
The atrium distributes all of the School’s activities through transparent passageways that reflect the interactions and exchanges of this community. Its generous size welcomes all the students and the holding of major events.

A campus with trees

The new ENSTA ParisTech campus has taken over the Palaiseau site by integrating itself into the geometry of the Polytechnique’s structural axes while offering a new landscape identity at the heart of the site. We decided to build the school, the main building of ENSTA ParisTech, along the boulevard in order to create a vast landscaped park at the back.
 
This park is made up of large planted lawns which frame the new accommodation buildings, thus allowing the theme of a tree-lined campus to be developed. The “outdoor conviviality spaces” fit naturally into the design of the hilly park to encourage places of exchange and conviviality.

We decided to build the school, the main building of ENSTA ParisTech, along the boulevard in order to create a vast landscaped park at the back.

Renewable energy

High Environmental Quality (HEQ)

Several energy sources are combined to supply the entire project: low-temperature geothermal heating, domestic hot water production by solar panels and photovoltaic electricity.
 
Energy losses are controlled by external insulation that increases the building’s inertia (including green roofs) and a double-flow ventilation system.

Rainwater management integrated into the landscape

In order to preserve the environment, the organisation of the landscape has taken into account the treatment of rainwater based on a system of five “vegetated” retention basins with regulated discharge of the stored rainwater into the river system.

Team

Patriarche group:

Patriarche (Architecture)
Lacoudre (Architecture)

Partners:

SLG paysage
Incet
Scyna 4
ACV
GECOB
COTEC
COTEBA

Copyrights :

Photos ©Nicolas Borel

Programme

Education
Public
Certification:
Certification “ NF bâtiment enseignement démarche HQE - Certivea “.
Did you like this project ?
Add it to your download list to read a full PDF presentation

01
02
03
04
05
01 / 05

ENSTA

Le nouveau campus de l’ENSTA ParisTech a investi le site de Palaiseau.

Le projet, réalisé dans le cadre du programme ParisTech, vise à faire du plateau de Saclay un pôle d’excellence scientifique au niveau mondial.
 
Situé dans un parc paysagé le bâtiment accueille l’enseignement général, l’Unité de Mathématiques Appliquées (UMA), une zone de recherche : les laboratoires d’Optique Appliquée (LOA), les laboratoires de l’Unité de Mécanique (UME) et de l’Unité de Chimie et Procédés (UCP) ainsi que des espaces partagés: des bureaux d’administration, une bibliothèque, deux amphithéatres et une cafétéria.

Client : SOGEPROM et ADIM - Ministère de la défense
Localisation : Paris, France
Surface : 20 900 m²
Statut : Livré
Date : 2012
Key points
  • Lisibilité des flux.
  • Favoriser les échanges.
  • Façades végétalisées.
  • Vaste parc paysager.

Intention - parti pris

Le parti architectural de l’école ENSTA ParisTech correspond à l’organisation des interactions entre les services et exprime la spécificité des typologies différenciées (services collectifs ou espaces d’enseignement), le tout regroupée autour d’un « Hub », l’atrium.
 
L’atrium distribue l’ensemble des activités de l’Ecole par des coursives transparentes qui reflètent les interactions et les échanges de cette communauté. Sa dimension généreuse accueille l’ensemble des élèves et la tenue de grandes manifestations.

Un campus arboré

Le nouveau campus de l’ENSTA ParisTech a investi le site de Palaiseau en s’intégrant dans la géométrie des axes structurants de l’école Polytechnique tout en proposant une nouvelle identité paysagère au cœur du site. Nous avons pris le parti de construire l’école, bâtiment principal de l’ENSTA ParisTech, le long du boulevard afin de dégager à l’arrière, un vaste parc paysager.
 
Ce parc est constitué de grandes pelouses plantées qui encadrent les nouveaux bâtiments d’hébergement, permettant ainsi de décliner la thématique d’un campus arboré. Les « espaces de convivialité extérieurs » s’inscrivent naturellement dans le dessin du parc vallonné pour favoriser les lieux d’échanges et de convivialité.

« Nous avons pris le parti de construire l’école, bâtiment principal de l’ENSTA ParisTech, le long du boulevard afin de dégager à l’arrière, un vaste parc paysager. »

Énergies renouvelables

HQE

Plusieurs sources énergétiques sont combinées pour alimenter la totalité du projet : chauffage par géothermie basse température, production d’eau chaude sanitaire par panneaux solaires et apport électrique d’origine photovoltaïque.

Les pertes d’énergie sont maîtrisées grâce à une isolation par l’extérieur qui augmente l’inertie du bâtiment (dont les toitures végétalisées) et à un système de ventilation double-flux.

Une gestion des eaux pluviales intégrée au paysage

Dans un souci de préservation de l’environnement, l’organisation du paysage a pris en compte le traitement des eaux pluviales en se basant sur un système de cinq bassins de rétention « végétalisés » avec un rejet régulé des eaux pluviales ainsi stockées vers le réseau hydrographique.

Équipe

Groupe Patriarche :

Patriarche (Architecture)
Lacoudre (Architecture)

Partenaires :

SLG paysage
Incet
Scyna 4
ACV
GECOB
COTEC
COTEBA

Crédits :

Photos ©Nicolas Borel

Programme

Enseignement
Equipement
Certification :
NF bâtiment enseignement démarche HQE – Certivea